Six vie to be next chief of National Taiwan University
Central News Agency
2013-02-17 03:14 PM
Taipei, Feb. 17 (CNA) The National Taiwan University (NTU), one of Taiwan's most prestigious universities, announced Sunday six candidates in its presidential search that started last June. The candidates include National Science Council head Cyrus Chu, dean of the NTU College of Medicine Yang Pan-chyr, and former president of the National Yunlin University of Science and Technology Yang Yeong-bin. NTU Vice President Lo Ching-hua, former NTU Vice President Bau Tzong-ho, and former dean of the NTU College of Management Hung Mao-wei are also in the list, the university said. The president-elect will replace incumbent NTU President Lee Si-chen on June 22, when his term is due, the NTU said. The school's Presidential Search Committee said there used to be eight candidates as of January, but two of them, who are not in Taiwan, dropped out of the race. The committee said it will hold interviews for the candidates, asking them to address their visions of running the school to NTU students, faculty and staff. Those procedures will be completed by March 1, while the election is expected by March 16, it said. (By Hsu Chi-wei and Lee Hsin-Yin)
Advertisement »
HOME |  WORLD |  Politics |  Business |  Sports |  TAIWAN |  Technology |  Health |  Society |  OPINION |  E-Paper
  • Taiwan News  ©  2016 All Rights Reserved.