World Golf Glance
By The Associated Press
Associated Press
2014-01-14 11:01 PM



Site: Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates.

Schedule: Thursday-Sunday.

Course: Abu Dhabi Golf Club (7,605 yards, 6,954 meters, par 72).

Purse: $2.7 million. Winner's share: $450,000.

Last year: Wales' Jamie Donaldson beat England's Justin Rose by a stroke. Tiger Woods and Rory McIlroy missed the cut.

Last week: Louis Oosthuizen won the Volvo Champions for the second straight year in his native South Africa. He birdied the final two holes for a one-stroke victory.

Notes: British Open champion Phil Mickelson is making his first start of the year. ... Martin Kaymer, the tournament winner in 2008, 2010 and 2011, also is in the field along with McIlroy, Henrik Stenson, Luke Donald, Sergio Garcia and American Peter Uihlein. Stenson swept the US PGA Tour's FedExCup and European Tour's Race to Dubai last season. ... U.S. Open champion Rose is sidelined by tendinitis in his right shoulder. ... The Qatar Masters is next week, followed by the Dubai Desert Classic.





Site: La Quinta, California.

Schedule: Thursday-Sunday.

Courses: PGA West, Arnold Palmer Private Course (6,950 yards, 6,355 meters, par 72); PGA West, Jack Nicklaus Private Course (6,951 yards, 6,356 meters, par 72); La Quinta Country Club (7,060 yards, 6,456 meters, par 72).

Purse: $5.7 million. Winner's share: $1,026,000.

Last year: Brian Gay won his fourth tour title, closing with a 9-under 63 and beating Charles Howell III on the second hole of a playoff. Swedish rookie David Lingmerth was eliminated on the first extra hole.

Last week: Jimmy Walker won the Sony Open in Hawaii for his second victory in the tour's new wraparound season, birdieing three late holes to beat Chris Kirk by a stroke. Walker also won the season-opening Open in October.

Notes: Kapalua winner Zach Johnson is the top-ranked player in the field at No. 6. No. 14 Brandt Snedeker, No. 20 Webb Simpson and No. 22 Keegan Bradley are the only others in the top 30 in the field. ... The tournament, long known as the Bob Hope Classic, was shortened from 90 holes to 72 in 2012. ... David Duval shot a 59 on the Palmer Course in the final round of his 1999 victory. ... Arnold Palmer won the first event in 1960 and added victories in 1962, '68, '71 and '73. ... The final round will be on the Palmer Course. ... Tiger Woods will make his first start of the year next week in the Farmers Insurance Open at Torrey Pines.





CHAMPIONS TOUR: Mitsubishi Electric Championship, Friday-Sunday, Hualalai Golf Course, Kaupulehu-Kona, Hawaii. Online:

ASIAN TOUR: King's Cup, Thursday-Sunday, Black Mountain Golf Club, Hua Hin, Thailand. Online:

Advertisement »
HOME |  WORLD |  Politics |  Business |  Sports |  TAIWAN |  Technology |  Health |  Society |  OPINION |  E-Paper
  • Taiwan News  ©  2016 All Rights Reserved.