Surf Taiwan News, Browse the World »
Olympic-Digest
Associated Press
2014-02-22 11:42 PM

The AP Olympic Digest at 10 a.m. EST (1500 GMT). The supervisor of the Olympic desk in Sochi is Chris Lehourites. NOTE: Members should get all Olympic copy. Please call the service desk (800 838-4616) for any problems or reruns.

TOP STORIES:

OLY--ASSESSING THE GAMES

SOCHI, Russia -- For organization, the Sochi Games deserve a solid 7 out of 10. For atmosphere, give them anywhere from zero to 10, depending on where you're from and which images struck you: glowing Olympians; athletes taming ice and snow; Cossack thugs horsewhipping women from Pussy Riot. By John Leicester. UPCOMING: 900 words, photos by noon EST, 1700 GMT.

OLY--BACH INTERVIEW

SOCHI, Russia -- IOC President Thomas Bach says in an interview with the AP that Ukraine's victory in the women's biathlon relay was the standout moment of the Sochi Olympics, a powerful symbol of unity during the country's bloody political crisis. By Stephen Wilson. SENT: 130 words, photos. UPCOMING: 700 words, photos by noon EST, 1700 GMT.

OLY--SKI-MEN'S SLALOM

KRANSAYA POLYANA, Russia -- Marcel Hirscher of Austria, the best active skier never to win an Olympic medal, struggles in the first run of the men's slalom. He was among the favorites for the race, the last on the Sochi Alpine schedule. By Howard Fendrich. UPCOMING: 600 words, photos. First run at 7:45 a.m. EST, 1245 GMT; second run at 11:15 a.m. EST, 1615 GMT.

OLY--OLYMPICS OR X GAMES

SOCHI, Russia -- Without them the U.S. would have just a few gold medals and NBC would have trouble getting the younger eyeballs it needs to justify its $775 million investment in the Winter Olympics. Extreme sports are making a big impact in the Winter Olympics. By Tim Dahlberg. 850 words, photos by 10:30 a.m. EST, 1530 GMT.

OLY--HKO-SWEDEN-CANADA

SOCHI, Russia -- The final obstacle in Canada's defense of its Olympic men's hockey title is another unbeaten team with ample reason to believe it is destined for gold. Sweden overcame major injuries to reach Sunday's matchup of the last two Olympic champions in the final event in Sochi. By Greg Beacham. UPCOMING: 750 words, photos by 11 a.m. EST, 1600 GMT.

OLY--HKO-US-FINLAND

SOCHI, Russia -- A day after one-goal defeats, the U.S. and Finland play for the bronze medal in men's hockey. The Americans are looking for their first medal outside North America since 1972. Six-time Olympian Teemu Selanne and the Finns are after their fifth medal finish in the last six Olympics. By Hockey Writer Larry Lage. UPCOMING: 750 words, photos. Game starts 10 a.m. EST, 1500 GMT.

NEWS/POLITICS:

OLY--SOCHI-DOPING

SOCHI, Russia -- A Ukrainian cross-country skier fails a doping test, her country's Olympic committee says. It is the third positive result of the Sochi Games. Marina Lisogor tested positive for a banned stimulant, as did the other two athletes. SENT: 300 words, photos.

OLY--FIG-KOREAN PROTEST

SOCHI, Russia -- South Korea is protesting the results of women's figure skating in which Russia's Adelina Sotnikova won the title. The South Koreans believe biased judging cost Yuna Kim a gold medal. The sport's international governing body has not yet received the letter. By Barry Wilner. SENT: 450 words, photos.

OLY--IOC-HUMAN RIGHTS

Citing widespread dismay with Russia's anti-gay laws, a coalition of more than 30 human rights and gay rights groups wants the IOC to ensure that future Olympic host countries do not have discriminatory laws on their books. By National Writer David Crary. SENT: 600 words, photos.

OLY--WINTER GAMES-WHAT'S NEXT?

SOCHI, Russia -- The Winter Games will relocate to the mountains of Gangwon in South Korea in 2018. More immediately, Pyeonchang will be celebrated at the closing cermony with a display one official says will "showcase Korea's unique artistry and culture in a global format." By John Pye. SENT: 550 words, photos.

-- Also:

-- OLY--Sochi-Pussy Riot. By Natalia Vasilyeva. SENT: 400 words, photos.

-- OLY--Winter Games-Popov's Assessment. By National Writer Paul Newberry. UPCOMING: 500 words by noon EST, 1700 GMT.

-- OLY--FIG-Plushenko-Surgery. By Barry Wilner. SENT: 300 words, photos.

-- OLY-Communist Banner-Olympics. By Oskar Garcia. SENT: 130 words, photos. UPCOMING: 350 words by 11 a.m. EST, 1600 GMT.

-- KRASNAYA POLYANA, Russia -- OLY--SKI-Maze-Last Olympics. SENT: 130 words, photos.

FIXTURES:

OLY--OLYMPIC ROUNDUP

SOCHI, Russia -- Marcel Hirscher of Austria tries to land an elusive Olympic medal but struggles in the first run of men's slalom. The Norwegian women rebound in cross-country skiing, and a third athlete is caught doping. By David Pace. SENT: 300 words, photos. UPCOMING: 700 words, photos by 2 p.m. EST, 1900 GMT.

-- With:

-- OLY--Sochi Scene -- Multiple shareable text-and-photo nuggets about the Olympics, inside the arenas and out. About 50-300 words each, between 12 and 20 items daily. With photos.

-- SOCHI, Russia -- OLY--Olympics-5 Things. Five things to know about the Sochi Olympics. SENT: 350 words, photos.

-- SOCHI, Russia -- OLY--Sochi Olympic Glance. Highlights of Day 16. UPCOMING: 300 words, photos by 2 p.m. EST, 1900 GMT.

-- SOCHI, Russia -- OLY--Sochi-Photo Gallery. 20 notable Olympic photos on Day 16. UPCOMING: about noon EST, 1700 GMT.

COMPETITION:

Seven gold medals: Alpine skiing, biathlon, cross-country skiing, snowboard (two), speedskating (two).

Gold Medals:

OLY--BIA-MEN'S RELAY

KRASNAYA POLYANA, Russia -- Ole Einar Bjoerndalen tries to give his Olympic career a fitting farewell with yet another record. Norway is among the favorites in the men's 4x7.5-kilometer relay, the final biathlon competition in Sochi. By Eric Willemsen. UPCOMING: 700 words, photos. Race starts 9:30 a.m. EST, 1430 GMT.

OLY--XXC-WOMEN'S 30K

KRASNAYA POLYANA, Russia -- Marit Bjoergen becomes the most decorated female Winter Olympian, leading a Norwegian sweep in 30-kilometer cross-country. Her sixth Olympic gold gives her a career total of 10, putting her ahead of Russian cross-country skier Lyubov Egorova. By Mattias Karen. SENT: 700 words, photos.

OLY--SPD-TEAM PURSUIT

SOCHI, Russia -- The Netherlands tries to wrap up its record-setting Olympics with two more speedskating gold medals in team pursuit, though there's a bit of a rift on the men's side with 10,000 gold medalist Jorrit Bergsma upset about being passed over for a spot on the three-man squad. The Dutch have captured 21 medals at the oval. By National Writer Paul Newberry. UPCOMING: 750 words, photos. start 8:30 a.m. EST, 1330 GMT.

-- With:

-- OLY--SPD-Bergsma Boycott. By Raf Casert. SENT: 120 words, photos. UPCOMING: 400 words, photos by 11 a.m. EST, 1600 GMT.

-- OLY--SPD-Team Pursuit-Davis Out. SENT: 130 words, photos.

-- OLY--SPD-Team Pursuit-Men. UPCOMING: 130 words, photos by 9 a.m. EST, 1400 GMT.

-- OLY--SPD-Team Pursuit-Women. UPCOMING: 130 words, photos by 9:30 a.m. EST, 1400 GMT EST.

OLY--SBD-PARALLEL SLALOM

KRASNAYA POLYANA, Russia -- American-born Russian Vic Wild wins the parallel slalom to bookend the gold he won in parallel giant slalom, strengthening his adopted country's bid to top the medal standings. Julia Dujmovits of Austria races to victory in the women's race. By Will Graves. SENT: 800 words, photos.

-- With:

-- OLY--SBD-Putin-Wild. SENT: 100 words.

Other:

OLY--BOB-FOUR MAN

KRASNAYA POLYANA, Russia -- With the hosts counting on him for another gold medal, Russia's Alexander Zubkov competes in the first two runs in the four-man bobsled. He will be challenged by USA-1 driver Steven Holcomb, the defending Olympic champion, who has ended two 62-year medal droughts during his career for the Americans. By Tom Withers. UPCOMING: 750 words, photos. First heat starts at 11:30 EST, 1630 GMT.

OLY--FIG-SKATING GALA

SOCHI, Russia -- The Olympic gala celebrates figure skating at the games. And, wow, do the Russians have plenty to celebrate. Starring in the show will be their gold medalists -- Adelina Sotnikova, Julia Lipnitskaia, Tatiana Voloszhazar and Maxim Trankov. By Barry Wilner. UPCOMING: 500 words, photos. Gala starts 11:30 a.m. EST, 1630 GMT.

FEATURES:

OLY--SKI-SHIFFIN'S FUTURE

SOCHI, Russia -- With her first Olympic gold medal in hand, Mikaela Shiffrin is already thinking big. The 18-year-old American, the youngest winner of an Olympic slalom, is "dreaming of the next Olympics" and winning five gold medals." By Jon Krawczynski. SENT: 850 words, photos.

OLY--BOB-JAMAICA'S CHALLENGE

SOCHI, Russia -- The Jamaican bobsledders were again the life of the Olympic party, laughing and joking despite enough hardship and hijinks to film a "Cool Runnings" sequel. Now, after a 29th-place finish in the two-man, they want to move from novelty act to legitimate medal contender. By Jon Krawczynski. UPCOMING: 700 words, photos by noon EST, 1700 GMT.

OLY--SPD-SHANI'S SWAN SONG

SOCHI, Russia -- Shani Davis hoped his Olympic career would end with a flourish. Instead, one of America's greatest speedskaters endured a miserable time with the rest of the American team. At 31, this could be his final trip to the Winter Games. By Beth Harris. UPCOMING: 650 words, photos by 11 a.m. EST, 1600 GMT.

OLY--HKW-WOMEN'S HOCKEY FUTURE

SOCHI, Russia -- Hayley Wickenheiser has been representing Canada at the Winter Games since women's hockey was added to the program in 1998. The five-time Olympian likes the progress the sport has made. By Jimmy Golen. SENT: 650 words, photos.

HOME |  WORLD |  Politics |  Business |  Sports |  Lifestyle |  TAIWAN |  Technology |  Health |  SUPPLEMENT |  Society |  OPINION
  • Taiwan News  ©  2014 All Rights Reserved.