Robben falls theatrically to earn decisive penalty
Penalty in 2-1 victory for Netherlands over Mexico at World Cup reopens debate about Robben
Associated Press
2014-06-30 03:42 AM

FORTALEZA, Brazil (AP) -- Arjen Robben did little to defuse the debate about his reputation for diving.

The Netherlands winger earned an injury-time penalty Sunday and then watched as teammate Klaas Jan Huntelaar converted from the spot to give the Dutch a come-from-behind 2-1 victory over Mexico in the second round of the World Cup.

Robben collapsed theatrically under a challenge from Rafael Marquez, causing Mexico coach Miguel Herrera to blame his team's loss on referee Pedro Proenca.

Herrera says "we ended up losing because he whistled a penalty that did not exist," adding that Robben "dived three times. The referee should have cautioned him."

Advertisement »
HOME |  WORLD |  Politics |  Business |  Sports |  TAIWAN |  Technology |  Health |  Society |  OPINION |  E-Paper
  • Taiwan News  ©  2016 All Rights Reserved.