Spain's Marquez repeats as Indy GP winner
Spain's Marquez extend perfect streak to 10 with 2nd straight Indianapolis GP win
Associated Press
2014-08-11 03:42 AM

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) -- Spain's Marc Marquez kept his perfect record intact Sunday by winning his 10th straight MotoGP race and becoming the first back-to-back Indianapolis Grand Prix winner.

Marquez beat Jorge Lorenzo of Spain by 1.803 seconds on Indy's reconfigured 2.591-mile, 16-turn road course. Italy's Valentino Rossi was third.

It's the fourth straight year that Indy's pole winner reached Victory Lane.

The defending world champ shattered the series' previous record for the youngest driver to win 10 in a row. Mike Hailwood was 24 years and 86 days old when he did it in 1964. Marquez is 21 years, 174 days.

Marquez gave up four spots with a bad start, and then rallied to take the lead before giving it right back. When he regained the lead a second time, nobody got close to him again.

Advertisement »
HOME |  WORLD |  Politics |  Business |  Sports |  TAIWAN |  Technology |  Health |  Society |  OPINION |  E-Paper
  • Taiwan News  ©  2016 All Rights Reserved.