Ruling party to elect new central standing committee members
Central News Agency
2014-08-30 10:01 AM
Taipei, Aug. 30 (CNA) The ruling Kuomintang (KMT) will elect 32 members of its central standing committee Saturday, with 39 people vying for a one-year term beginning in September. All but 4 of the 32 incumbent elected members are seeking re-election. The Central Standing Committee consists of 39 members, with 7 of them designated by the party chairman. The results of the election are expected later in the day. The new central standing committee will be the last one to serve a one-year term. A revision adopted in the KMT national congress last year extended the term to two years but the the change will not take effect until September 2015. The central standing committee meets every Wednesday with the party chairman to finalize party policies and other major issues. President Ma Ying-jeou doubles as KMT party chairman.

(By Claudia Liu)

Advertisement »
HOME |  WORLD |  Politics |  Business |  Sports |  TAIWAN |  Technology |  Health |  Society |  OPINION |  E-Paper
  • Taiwan News  ©  2016 All Rights Reserved.